Team Members


Diverse Backgrounds, a Common Passion for Improving Outcomes

The EducationCounsel team includes some of the most respected names in education with experience in the substance and practice of policy change. From bipartisan backgrounds, we share a common passion and agenda for substantive change in education. With our collective experience in the White House, the U.S. Department of Education, governors’ offices, state boards of education, foundations, and the classroom,  we have first-hand knowledge and expertise to develop workable solutions for the challenges our clients face.

While EducationCounsel is associated with a number of marquee names—former U.S. Education Secretary Dick Riley, Art Coleman, and Scott Palmer, among them—our entire team has decades of experience in education policy at the federal, state, and local level, united by one common thread: personal investment in improving outcomes for all students. Following is a sample list of some of our individual accomplishments. 

  • Created and managed teacher performance programs
  • Served on presidential councils that developed civil rights legal policy in education
  • Designed early learning and preschool systems
  • Led the rebuilding of a state education agency
  • Developed interventions and supports for struggling schools
  • Served as deputy general counsel of the U.S. Department of Education
  • Evaluated No Child Left Behind (NCLB) programs, including alternative teacher certification, state and local flexibility provisions, and out-of-school learning programs
  • Taught in urban school districts

Jamie Brandon   jamie.brandon@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2963
Arthur L. Coleman   art.coleman@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2912
Heidi Ellis   heidi.ellis@nelsonmullins.com   202.545.2967
Sofia Gold   sofia.gold@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2893
Mary Hinton   mary.hinton@educationcounsel.com   202.712.2878
Catherine Holahan   catherine.holahan@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2905
Alicia Kielmovitch   alicia.kielmovitch@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2988
Reginal J. Leichty   reg.leichty@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2918
Kate Lipper   kate.lipper@educationcounsel.com   617.573.4787
Bethany M. Little   bethany.little@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2924
Debbie Oakes   debbie.oakes@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2961
Scott R. Palmer   scott.palmer@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2916
Richard W. Riley   dick.riley@nelsonmullins.com   202.712.2814
Sandy Rinck   sandy.rinck@nelsonmullins.com   202.712.2811
Amy Leigh Starzynski   amy.starzynski@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2917
Terri Taylor   terri.taylor@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2921
Jessica Walbridge   jessica.walbridge@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2914
Kedda M. Williams   kedda.williams@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2925
Steven Yale Winnick   steve.winnick@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2913
Jess Wood   jessica.wood@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2903
Margery Anne Yeager   margery.yeager@educationcounsel.com   202.545.2966

General Inquiries

Debbie Oakes
EducationCounsel
101 Constitution Ave., NW
Suite 900
Washington, DC 20001

202-545-2961
202-545-2943 (fax)


Add your name to receive Education Counsel E-Updates automatically.

Sign Up


Interested in joining our team? For employment opportunities, click here